Phil You In: A Look Into My Life.

Ah, another moment in life where I sit back and reflect on all that has gone on, that is going on, and that is going to happen. I can admire what my life has become so far, notice and fix the mistakes I’ve made along the way, as well as prepare for the future as best as I can while still staying in the now. For the most part, I’m very content and satisfied with the way that my life has been going so far. Not to say that I had to overcome some sort of crazy adversity, or started from the very bottom, but I can honestly say that I’ve done the most I can with what little I have, and it’s been an amazing ride so far.

It’s been about two months since I’ve moved out of my house, and it’s been amazing! Not to say that living at home was bad, but the fact that I have more independence now than I ever had in my life is pretty cool. I had a catch in my living room, ate flavor ice pops at 1AM, and have been going out without the worry of waking my parents or having my dog wake them up for me (HA! Take that!). Life is cool. Not to mention that the roommates I’ve surrounded myself with make it a fun place to live. It’s like having four extended family members in the house, except I don’t think any part of my family is Guatemalan or Jewish (love you guys!).

Work is work, but man does it feel good to know that I have a full time job with benefits, make enough money to live on my own AND have just enough money after to have some fun (or as I’d like to call it, being “Fun Broke”). My weeks have consisted of 9.5 hour work days, usually followed by softball 5 out of 7 days of the week. After that, I decide whether to eat before I sleep, or stay up with the guys to gain a sense of sanity in this crazy life of mine. Nonetheless, I enjoy every minute of it. The weekends are where I thrive. If I’m not working my part time job or playing in the hangover softball league on Sunday mornings, I’m usually trying to find something fun to do! I’ve been working on my golf game, my tan, and my sleep. If I am up to it, you might even find me downtown having a drink and playing some darts with some friends. I’m still looking to go fishing, so if anyone has time on the weekends, hit me up!

With the NHL, NBA, and NFL all on hiatus, I haven’t been watching much TV, unless it’s a series on Netflix that I plan on binge watching. TV shows today are boring; people building tiny houses, single women trying to find love while living with 20 dudes, and the news. I HATE THE NEWS! It’s the only show in America that starts off with “Good Morning/Afternoon/Evening” then tells you why it isn’t. Instead of sitting on the couch and admiring the flickering light and flashing colors, I’ve been spending most of my time outside enjoying the scenery, conversing with everyone and anyone who will listen, or just sitting in silence and reflect on life, as I am now, just you know, to myself.

I guess if there was any conclusion to this little excerpt that I decided to write, it’s this: I appreciate and value my life, the people in it, and can’t thank all of you enough for helping me along the way, accepting me for who I am, and most of all, being yourselves. That’s what life is about, right? Finding yourself. I always knew who I am, and you should always know who you are as well. Be happy being yourself, because there’s no one else that will be you for you. Or something like that. Anyways, thanks for reading, have a good week, and uh…..keep on truckin? I’m bad at endings.

 

Leave a Reply

