What a Wonderful World: Small Acts of Kindness that Make the World Seem Less Scary

 

news

All over the news, no matter what time of day or where you are, you will most likely see a story about war, threats from different countries, or something political. To sum it up, most of today’s news stories consist of depressing stories and negativity, making the world that we live in seem like it’s a not so fun place to live. On the other hand, we also hear stories about people in their local neighborhoods and towns doing something awesome, but it’s usually overshadowed by a story that isn’t so awesome. I’m here to tell you a few stories that I’ve heard and been a part of that are not just awesome, but they will give you hope that there is some good left in society.

Message in an Airplane

First, I’m going to tell you a story that one of my co-workers had told me. She told me about a little boy whose dad was a soldier overseas. Being a kid, he would write his father letters telling him that he missed him, make them into a paper airplane, and throw them over the fence. Soon enough, the paper airplane letters would fly over the fence in masses. The next door neighbor started to notice all of these planes parked on his lawn. Startled at first, he takes one and opens it, revealing the little boy’s messages to his father. Now, I’d be willing to bet that 8 out of 10 people would take those airplanes without looking at them and throw them away. Here’s where the story gets good (grab the tissues).

paper-and-packaging-board-letters-to-dad-large-10

The neighbor collected all of the letters that the boy threw over the fence, put them in a box, and actually sent all the letters the boy wrote to his father. Time goes by, and sure enough, the neighbor finds a box on his front doorstep. It was a box of reply letters from the father overseas! Naturally, you would think the neighbor would just bring the box over and give it to the family to read, but that isn’t the case here. The neighbor would fold the replies into paper airplanes, and throw them back over to the little boy, where he would open each one with delight, knowing that his paper airplane messages had safe landings in his father’s hands. This legit was one of the most touching, inspirational, and positive stories I’ve heard in a long time, and I hope that you smiled the whole way through reading this!

Fan Mail Fail

The next story I want to tell is one that involves me. I work in a mailroom, and every morning my job is to take the mail, sort it, and deliver it to the appropriate co-worker in the company. Some of the mail that is sent in goes to reception, whether it’s a complaint, a compliment, or just a comment. One piece of mail that was sent to reception was sent by a little boy, who I guess assumed that Steph Curry of the Golden State Warriors worked here. It included a Steph Curry basketball card, and a letter from the boy telling Steph how big of a fan he was, and how happy he made him. Again, I could’ve took that letter, threw it away, and kept the card (hey, could be worth something someday). Instead, I remembered back in the day when I used to do the same thing to my idols, and would HATE if I found out that they never got it.

Steph

I decided to speak with the receptionist about what to do with the letter. Of course I proposed the idea that we send it back out and make sure that it gets to the Golden State Warrior fan mail address. She looked it up, re-addressed the envelope, and I went to the mailroom and threw a stamp on it. Hopefully, that little boy’s letter and card will make it to Steph. Even if he never gets to it, or the letter gets tossed into the pile of letters that probably already exists, I felt good knowing that I potentially have made someone’s day without them even knowing it. Case and point, there is good in this world, and you can be a part of it!

Life is Good.

I guess if I were to have any kind of conclusion out of these two stories it would be this: life is good. In the words of Martin Luther King Jr., “Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that”. I see too many people on a daily basis with a frown on their face, hate in their veins, and negative vibes radiating from their aura. Everyone today is consumed in social media, politics, the media, and really a lot of things that aren’t really as important as the things that are in front of them. Take the time to do something nice at least one or twice or five times a day, in the long run, karma will return the favor. Tell the ones you love that you love them, always smile, and stay positive!

309387-life-is-good

Leave a Reply

