The Rainy Day Revelation

Yesterday was pretty much like every other day. I woke up, got ready for work, went to work, took my break, dreaded the last couple of hours of work, then went home to eat and sleep. For me, this routine has pretty much become my life. Sometimes, I feel as if the days stay the same and all that changes is my outfit and the date on the calendar. Yesterday, however, the smallest of moments opened my eyes to something greater. Something that I, like most people, take for granted. After giving the moment some thought, I felt happy, at ease, and overall just warmth. You’re all either going to think I’m crazy or on point, either way, this is what happened:

It was about 12:30PM, I’m thirty minutes away from my lunch break and it couldn’t have come sooner. The day was already shot; it was snowing and raining (shout out Mother Nature), my boss was acting like the father who had a bad day at work and took it out on the smallest thing his kids did (aka me and my co-worker), and I was just tired from working 10 hour shifts Mon-Fri on top of a part time job on the weekends. To sum it up, it was a shitty day and I wanted no part of it. When this happens, I often think to myself “is this job worth all this stress? Why can’t today be a good day? I’ve heard of shit happening, but it seems to be happening to me pretty often, huh?”  Just then, my co-worker came back from his break and it was my time to leave. Thank God.

Englishman-no-umbrella.png

I throw my jacket on and sprint to my car to avoid the rain. Today already sucks as it is, to be drenched would just add to it. Frustrated, I speed out of the parking lot and book it to my house, where I usually have myself a homemade lunch and just relax for a little before jumping back into the mailroom. The whole drive on the highway I caught myself muttering obscenities to myself, cursing this person and that person, wishing some pretty awful stuff upon people out of anger. I pulled off the highway and was halfway home, when I found myself caught at a traffic light. This is where the moment happened.

All riled up, I was looking at any reason to yell at any driver near me that seemed to make the smallest mistake. Just then, I noticed two kids, they had to be around 11-12 years old. They were crossing at the light I was at, but something was missing. Neither of them had an umbrella, and both of them were soaked. The thing that made this moment different was that they weren’t upset that they were wet: they were laughing, happy, just appreciative of each other’s company. That’s when it hit me.

I stared at the two kids, thinking to myself “how don’t they mind being wet? Why don’t they have an umbrella?” The truth was, they didn’t need one. So what it was raining? So what they got drenched in rain? They were happy! Then I took that thought and applied it to my current shit show of a day: so what the weather sucks? So what my boss is having an off day? At the end of the day, if I focus all of my energy on the things that bother me, they’ll consume me. Just let everything unfold naturally and just enjoy the now!

 

Life throws us a bunch of obstacles, problems, and circumstances that sometime are out of our control. If you try micro managing everything and solving every little problem that you THINK you have, you’ll end up frying your brain with the stress you cause yourself. I guess if there was a moral to this story it’s this: if you’re ever having a shitty day, feeling down, or just need a pick me up, just remember it’s all good in the end. To quote Vivian Greene: “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass; it’s about learning to dance in the rain.” Or walk, in these kids case.

Leave a Reply

