Powerball Billions: What I’d do with $1.4 Billion Dollars

Pool of Money

If I Had a Billion Dollars…

On April 22nd, 1992, the first Powerball jackpot draw took place. The jackpot then started off at $2 million dollars, which I’m sure in 92’ was a lot of money. Fast forward to today in 2016, where the Powerball jackpot has just hit a record high $1.4 billion dollars. Since we live in Connecticut that means that we can choose a cash payout of $592.8 million or $35 million over a 30 year period. Of course, that leaves us with the one question that everyone is asking: what would you do with all of that money? Well, I’m going to tell you a few things that I would do with all that dough if it ever came into my possession.

Philly Powerballs!

If I won the Powerball, chances are that I’d find a way to do it anonymously. No way I’m coming into hundreds of millions of dollars and letting the world know that I have it. As lovely as the 30 year annuity sounds, I personally would take the cash lump sum of $592.8 million. Hey, a piano can fall on my head tomorrow and I’d never be able to enjoy it all, right? The first thing that I’d do if I won the Powerball Jackpot is pay off my student loans. Sally Mae, it’s been real, but I can’t take you anymore. I enjoyed tossing you a few hundred bucks a month, but if I hit the big time, you’ll be my side chick. The next thing that I’d do is pay off my parent’s house (hopefully they’d consider that my long term rent payment). I’d want my parents to live comfortably for the rest of their lives; after all, they had to put up with my bullshit for about 25 years.

Family & Friends

The next question I’d have to ask myself is how much to give my family members. I’d probably break each of my immediate family off $2 million each to do as they please, and between a $250,000-$500,000 to each member of the rest of my family. As far as friends go, I’d probably toss each of my closest boys $50,000 – $100,000 each. Once all of the heathens are taken care of,  I’d start planning on what types of stocks or companies I’d like to invest my money into (after setting up an appropriate trust fund of course). I’m going to make my money make me more money. Now that I’ve taken care of my debts, family and friends, it’s time for me to start taking care of myself.

Fun Time

Now that I’m settled, the first thing I’m doing is buying a skybox at MSG for season New York Rangers tickets. Next, I’d take a trip to Greece and renovate my dad’s old house in his village, as well as donate a good amount of money into his village. Remember people: always take care of where you came from. I’d donate a good amount of money to Make a Wish foundation as well. To be honest, I don’t think I’d buy some expensive mansion. Since my childhood home is paid off, I’m going to probably live there modestly, with the exception of the Porsche in my newly gated driveway with top of the line security. I’d travel around the world and see all of the things that I’ve wanted to see like the leaning tower of Pisa, Eiffel Tower, the Pyramids, etc. and bring my family and friends with me on my new private jet. Basically, if I win the Powerball, the amount of things that I can/could/would do is almost limitless.

Stamford is my Playground

One thing that i’d love to do just for shits and giggles is to buy the big hole in the ground in the middle of Downtown Stamford and finally do something with it. I’d probably build a hockey rink and start a hockey program with top of the line training, coaches, ice, everything! Maybe i’ll just buy the property and put a big billboard in the middle with my face on it just to be a dick. I’d buy all the Reddi Roosters and rename them Garden Catering, and definitely start up a mobile food truck with my buddy Taylor to serve downtown the bomb munchie snacks. If I were to buy any property, I’d probably buy a street off of Shippan Ave and move all of my family and friends in. I’d take care of Stamford, since it’s been taking care of me my whole life and helped me be the person I am now.

At the end of the day, the chances of me hitting the Powerball on Wednesday are the same as me miraculously growing to six feet; it could happen, but chances are it won’t happen. Who knows, I have the same chance as 292 million other people. It could happen, right? Like the commercial says: Hey, you never know.

Leave a Reply

