What I’m Thankful for: A Thanksgiving Post from Philly B

Ah, Thanksgiving. For most, it’s a time to eat plenty of good food, watch a couple of football games and kick a few brews back with the family or a group of friends. It’s also a time where we should all take a small moment and think of all of the things that we are grateful for. Life is a beautiful thing, and we all have a lot of things that we should be thankful for. Here are a few things that I’m personally very grateful for:

My Health
Lord knows that I’m thankful for still being able to wake up every
morning; whether it’s at 7AM for work or 12PM nursing a nasty hangover from the night before. I’ve put my body through a good amount of physical, mental, and emotional pain, but the outcome is always positive regardless. The countless all-nighters, the partying, sports, fights, and other times where I’ve been lucky enough to
get away with a bruise or a scratch, I’m somehow still in one piece. Am I all there in the head? Most will tell you probably not, and I’d agree, but I’m thankful for that too. Why be normal?

My Family

I have a huge family (I’m Greek and Italian, which should explain it). Not all of them may be with me today, but I’m thankful for those who I’ve had the pleasure of meeting before their time is up, and those who are still here that show me nonstop unconditional love. Both sides are made up of a bunch of wild and crazy people, but nonetheless the size of their hearts is what keeps us together and so strong. Through thick and thin, family is family, and I am blessed to have such a cool and awesome one.

My Friends

This is one of the things that most people take for granted. Growing up, I thought it was important to have a lot of friends. I was fortunate enough to have a good amount when I was younger, but upset to later realize that everyone that came up with you aren’t going to be around as you get older. I still can say I know plenty of people, many whom I’m proud to call my friends, but it’s the true few that I’m thankful for.

The New York RangersZucc

What’s a list of things that I’m thankful for without the Rangers? Long before Twitter, the New York Rangers were the only thing I followed. I’m thankful for my dad keeping me up when I was 4 to watch them win in 94, for the season with Gretzky in 99, even for the dark ages in the early 2000’s when we couldn’t buy a win. That being said, I’m thankful for Zucc, king Hank, and the rest of the Blueshirts. Let’s get that cup this year boys!

Women
Last but not least, I’m thankful for all the ladies out there. I’m thankful for all the women with the big butts who decided to wear sundresses in the summer and leggings in the winter. I’m thankful for the ones who gave a guy like me a chance with them, and those who didn’t as well (your loss though). I’m thankful for the women in my family who taught me how to treat a lady right. Lastly, I’m thankful for the next woman to come into my life and make me a better man.

Of course, I can go on and on with a grocery list of things and people that I’m thankful for, but I think these 5 kind of cover the important things. I’m also thankful for anyone who takes the time to read my blog. If this is your first time reading it, or you’ve been reading them from the start, I’m thankful for you guys. You give me the inspiration, courage, and love that I have to keep writing these kind of posts, and for that I thank you.

  

Leave a Reply

