Reflection on France: Give Peace a Chance

“Hate Cannot Drive Out Hate, Only Love Can Do That…”

We live in a world today where it seems to me that hate is spreading faster than love. Last week, France was attacked by terrorists who are believed to have been associated with ISIS, leaving at least 129 people killed and over 300 wounded. Even though seven of the terrorists were killed, the group itself is still at large no one knows when and where they will strike next. Everyone across the country, and for that matter the world, is living in fear of this terrorist group and their future actions. This to me isn’t how I would picture life at 25, especially with all the progress we made as far as the equality of people. Why the violence? Why? That’s the million dollar question right there.

I wanted to take this time to kind of give my opinion on the world and where it is today. I’m fortunate enough to have a huge loving family who supports me, a group of friends who I love and love me back, a job that I’m happy to wake up and go to everyday, and the ability to live free. I understand that this isn’t the case for some people, but I know the value of my life and appreciate it for what it is. These terrorists obviously don’t know the value of life since they like to stop at nothing to take it from innocent people. This sickens me. I for one am all about peace and love, and see no need for any of these acts to take place. There should be no reason why anyone should have to wake up in the morning and fear their lives.

I know I’m probably sounding redundant, but this negative shit in the world really has to stop. I feel like every time that I turn on the news, listen to the radio, hell even go on Facebook or any other social media I’m smacked in the face with some sort of video or article about police brutality, race inequality, terrorist acts, or some form of hate. In the words of John Lennon: All I’m saying is give peace a chance. I want to someday bring a child or two into this world, and the last thing I want them to worry about is going to school and be wary of their classmates because one of them could flip and do something crazy. We need to start doing a better job as people of spreading more love than hate.

From now on, I don’t want to nor will I post anything negative on this blog. I may crack a few jokes on some people who did something stupid, but no news that has to do with something bad or depressing will be put on here. I’m all about spreading positivity, and you should be too. You all should take the time to post something positive on social media, help a friend or family member, or do something that makes you and others happy. Life is good, remember that. Take time to tell people you love them, and say a prayer for everyone who was affected by these heinous acts of terrorism. ” l’amour est tout ce dont tu as besoin” or “love is all you need”.

Leave a Reply

