Stop Bullying: Support the LGBT Youth Today on Spirit Day

Support #SpiritDay and Pledge to Go Purple!

GLAAD

Growing up as the smallest kid among my group of friends, I got bullied a lot for being short. Kids would take advantage of me and disrespect me all because I didn’t grow as tall as them. I’d often think to myself: why can’t I be taller? I hated everything about being small, especially being picked on and sometimes excluded from groups and events because of it. As time passed and with the help of my family and friends, I’ve come to realize that people can say what they want, in the end as long as I’m happy that’s all that matters. If it weren’t for them, I don’t know what I’d do. I decided that I’m going to turn around and pay it forward by standing up to bullies worldwide.

Today, October 15, 2015 is Spirit Day. Spirit Day is a day that is dedicated to show support for the LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and transgender) youth and stand up to the bullying that these kids receive on a daily basis. The day was established in 2010 by a courageous teenager named Brittany McMillan. Brittany wanted to remember the kids who lose their lives to suicide and prevent others from doing the same. Spirit Day is celebrated every year on the third Thursday in October during National Bullying Prevention Month. Since then, it has become the most visible day of support for LGBT youth.

Millions of teachers, workplaces, celebrities, media outlets and students worldwide are wearing purple today or showing it off on social media. Purple represents spirit on the rainbow flag, and we should show a lot of that today.  If anyone wants to get involved in this movement, the first step would be to “pledge to go purple today” by wearing purple or using it somehow on your social media account(s). You can also use the #SpiritDay hashtag to spread the word.

I know that earlier I had mentioned how I dealt with bullying, but it was never at the magnitude that these children have to deal with on a daily basis. I am a firm believer that everybody needs somebody, no matter what gender or sexual preference. If you are someone that puts a person, especially a child, down all because of who they share their love with, I don’t respect you. Period. Nobody should EVER take their lives or contemplate harming themselves for thinking that being who they are is wrong.

So if you can, please help make today a positive day and spread the word of this great cause. I pledge to go purple today, will you?

Leave a Reply

